Why A Cat ?

June 14, 2008

This has to be most common question when I reveal I have a cat at home; even more surprise when I say 2 !

I suppose most people think that cats are those dirty fellas living on the ground floor, exist just to sleep on top of cars or even scratch cars ( ?????? ), make baby like cries at night, eat up food scrapes or just plain road kills.

I would say “To each, its own”.  If it makes you happy, hey, would cares what other thinks, as long as it is legal and ethical, of course.

But I will humbly offer my reasons on “Why A Cat” here to share my perspectives.  If you disagree, like I said earlier, to each its own; please move on to something else that will interest you more.  The rest of the post might offend you.

Why a cat ? Reasons:

1.  Always wanted one.

2. Otherwise, they would be put to sleep.  I decided to adopt a cat after reading a blog that highlighted someone ‘s threat to have a cat removed because that person was frightened of cats.  Imagine, a grown person, of at least 10 times the weight of the cat frightened by a cat.  Of course, everyone has their paranoid fear, but to put another life at risk because of an irrational fear (even if that person has a bad experience before, it does not mean it will repeat) is just plain selfish and stupid.

3. Care for another instead of yourself all the time.  I thought I could offer another life, hopefully, a better life than under constant threat of fear or hunger.  I am not sure if my cats are happier than when they are strays, I suppose they are not.  But it is sure better than being picked up by the AVA ?

4. Surprises all the time.  My cats will find new ways to amaze me with their inquisitiveness and sense of wonder.  Sometime which I cherish as a child and manifested when I observe my cats at play. Pleasures in life can be simple, and not necessary be in the form of who has the most expensive or latest material object.

5. They express their affection in various ways.  My cats will act up just to get some attention.  Some of the antics have been posted on this blog.  Others, well, you can see if on http://www.youtube.com

6. Pestbusters.  Since my first cat, Zacky, the common household pest community had been wiped out.  There is no more lizards or roaches.  He will even share his catches, if you so wishes to share the joy of the catch.

7. Learn to be tolerant.  I began to be more tolerant as you cannot force them to do what you want. You can always try, but you still can’t without great effort, or unless you enjoy being rewarded with pain.  Think of about it this way: If someone forces to do what you could care less about, how would you react?

8. Enrich your life experiences.  When I was younger, coping with the basics is key.  Now, I can expand it a little and enjoy other aspects in a way that benefits both.

9. Don’t take things for granted.  I noticed that only when I spend time with my cats, they will reward that relationship by spending more with me.  You give, and hope for something to come back, but don’t expect any.  Just because you want, does not mean you get.  But if you work at it, maybe you get some?  Sounds familiar, isn’t it.

10. Broaden other’s perspectives.  When I share some of my cat guardian experiences with my friends, the most common responses are “Oh!”, “I didn’t know that” or “Really?”.  I usually refer them to my blog and let them see for themselves.

So, whichever choice of pet you choose, they add another perspective and joy to your life.

“So why not consider a dog?” which is the most common question being asked.  I think about this way:  I cannot spare the time to walk my dog and it is unfair to the dog.  Which is the politically correct answer.

The true reason? I disagree with making an animal travel hours to Singapore or bred for the sole purpose of monetary rewards.  You can always pick up a stray or abandoned dog at the pound, which I applaud you.  But most want a pedigree and perpetuate this money grabbing business.  I do what I can with what little I have.  Ask yourself, did you choose your parents or how you look?

Food for thought.

5 Responses to “Why A Cat ?”

  1. Oorvi Says:

    I am completely in agreement with you…on two counts. Whether you like cats or you like dogs…what is important is that you care for them.

    Take my case. I wouldn’t be around had Cameo not picked me up. And about cats, well! Being a dog, I am not very comfortable being with them, but then long before I came, Mercury had a cat.

    I guess it’s good to have a friend – cat or dog – it doesn’t matter. Not unless you are a dog or cat.

    Licks to you (if you don’t mind dogs:)) or simply pawshakes!

    Oorvi

  2. Oorvi Says:

    And the second point of agreement…

    Yes, it’s better to adopt a stray or an abandoned dog or cat.

    A human has the power to change lives…and there are so many lives waiting to be changed! You change their lives; they change yours by filling it with love and laughter.

    Thanks.
    Oorvi

  3. s1gen Says:

    Thanks, continue to enjoy the blog

  4. Chinky Says:

    http://www.amazon.com/My-Cat-Saved-Life/dp/1585420638

    Amazon.com
    “This is a small story in the stories of the world,” announces author Phillip Schreibman in his introduction to My Cat Saved My Life. “It’s about a man and a cat and what the cat showed the man before it was too late.”
    Schreibman was a composer for theater and television in Toronto when both of his parents died, six years apart, after long illnesses. The losses hit him hard, and he plunged into despair. He found himself “confused among people, angry at trifles, depressed and distracted in all my endeavours.” At 39 years old, he felt that his life had “ground to a halt.”

    Enter Alice, a tiny, abandoned kitten in desperate need of rescue. Schreibman, whose own cat had been killed two weeks earlier in an act of monstrous cruelty, could see that if he didn’t save the kitten, it would die. What he didn’t yet know was that the 6-week-old life he was saving would in turn revive his own.

    As he and the cat began living together, Alice insisted that Schreibman pay attention to her. She’d wake him up early, sometimes by knocking the alarm clock on the floor if he didn’t respond to gentler urgings. “C’mon, let’s have breakfast,” she was telling him. When he was stuck indoors fretting over bills at his desk, she would pull him away to show him something in her world. “Usually it was a bird in a branch or a sudden summer downpour; maybe a burst of midwinter sunshine was flooding the yard. I had ceased paying attention to these things.” And that may have been Alice’s greatest gift to Schreibman (and to us): teaching him to notice and appreciate the small wonders of everyday life.

    My Cat is a book of rare emotional candor. Its beauty lies in the author’s willingness to expose his rawest nerve, describe his own pettiness and fears, and recognize the fallacy of human superiority over other life. “My cat woke me up,” Schreibman concludes. If we’re willing to pay respectful attention, perhaps our cats will do the same for us. –Charles Smyth


  5. […] Why A Cat? Posted on June 26, 2008 by calsifer Zacky, the now tubby home cat. (Source: Tubby Cat) […]


Leave a Reply

